PDA

View Full Version : Model [REQUEST] Track Straights without Ties


Psy
07-27-2009, 02:19 PM
I have a simple request. Simply both track straights (track_straight_128 and track_straight_256) without the ties in between. I will love you forever. Danke.

SiniStarR
07-27-2009, 02:56 PM
Even I could use those for my own map I can do it.

Rexy
07-27-2009, 02:58 PM
This can be done (I get home tomorrow) but a fair warning is that the ties constitute for at least half of the height of the model--meaning that the resulting product would either not match the tracks previous, or they would float (since they are missing the base ties).

I could do something like what I did for zig, which was to make the straights twice the height as normal (so they were just as tall in units as the stock models). Otherwise you'll be having to compensate for inconsistencies. Let me know what you think, and I'll get to work on these as soon as I can.

Psy
07-27-2009, 03:02 PM
Couldn't you just offset the origin of the model without ties so it matches perfectly with the normal tracks?

SiniStarR
07-27-2009, 03:30 PM
well I guess im not doing it now <___<; Way to go and steal my thunder.

Rexy
07-27-2009, 04:13 PM
Couldn't you just offset the origin of the model without ties so it matches perfectly with the normal tracks?

You could, but then the model would appear to float...half of the height of the model is the ties, after all. Remove the ties, and there's nothing underneath.

Psy
07-27-2009, 04:18 PM
Ah right. If you could extend the rail so it goes all the way down to the bottom of the existing model then that would be great.

YM
07-27-2009, 04:32 PM
ties, you mean the sleepers?

Psy
07-27-2009, 05:10 PM
Yep. :P

III_Demon
07-27-2009, 05:58 PM
i already did it, i just didnt get it packaged up and uploaded, because i'm lazy. gimme a while and i'll update my track pieces.

Rexy
07-28-2009, 06:23 PM
Demon, did you update? Curious--wondering if I should move to another project or fill this one.

Mexican Apple Thief
07-28-2009, 06:40 PM
Ah right. If you could extend the rail so it goes all the way down to the bottom of the existing model then that would be great.

That would like kinda weird. Just raise the ground in the section where the tracks change.

Rexy
07-28-2009, 07:10 PM
That would like kinda weird. Just raise the ground in the section where the tracks change.

Alternatively, I could also create a specific model to custom fit onto the existing stock model, so that the rails do a quick downward bend until they lay flat on the ground (and of course, I'd make them in both unit sizes, 4 models, 2 of which would be connectors).

Rexy
07-29-2009, 12:31 AM
Ok, so here's what I did:

3 models, 1x64 unit connector model, 1x128 unit sleeperless model, and 1x256 unit sleeperless model. All models use the stock skins and use the team specific skins.

http://forums.tf2maps.net/downloads/solo_rails_jwZ.jpg

You'll probably have to alter the height of the track_path entities to make it more believable.

Download:
http://forums.tf2maps.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=2053

Update the top!

Psy
07-29-2009, 05:05 AM
Excellent. Thanks a lot. :)