PDA

View Full Version : Model [REQUEST] Converting Displacement to Model


AntonJ3000
08-23-2009, 08:17 AM
Hey, I don't know anything about modelling so thought I'd place a request here.
I'd like if someone could do this: Make a displacement to a model (prop_static) so I can disable shadows on it.

Here's a link to a .zip containing resources. (http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/960458/DONTDELETEEEE/displacementtomodel.zip) (Click)
It includes both .vmf and .dxf of the displacement I want converted.
It also includes the textures required (I think, I looked at the .vmf and put in all textures that it included)

Rexy
08-23-2009, 12:41 PM
Not that I won't do this, but is there any particular reason you want to disable shadows on this displacement? Are the shadows not lining up, or the displacements not working like you want them to? Are you using cubemaps and asking the cubemap to build for specific brushes?

AntonJ3000
08-23-2009, 05:04 PM
Not that I won't do this, but is there any particular reason you want to disable shadows on this displacement? Are the shadows not lining up, or the displacements not working like you want them to? Are you using cubemaps and asking the cubemap to build for specific brushes?

Having a displacement in 3D Skybox that works perfect expect when non-fullbright it casts a very annoying shadow over whole map that makes it dark :P

Rexy
08-23-2009, 07:56 PM
I'm still not sure of what you're talking about, maybe some screens? Because I'm not entirely sure a model is the best solution to this.

BrokenTripod
08-24-2009, 12:13 AM
He's basically saying he has a large mountain in his skybox that casts a giant shadow over the bulk of his map, and he wants to remedy this with a prop that has shadows disabled, so that the shadows don't show on the map.

Artesia
08-24-2009, 01:05 AM
change the sun angle maybe? move the mountain slightly? A combination of the two perhaps?

having a giant mountain where the light is coming from could look strange

Randdalf
08-24-2009, 02:15 AM
I assume he wants them for the same reason that Viaduct's roofs are displacements. Unfortunately, I have no idea what that reason is.

YM
08-24-2009, 06:02 AM
You can make a displacement not cast shadows, its one of the ray option in the displacement menu. have a go with those.

Rexy
08-24-2009, 11:42 AM
If you're having issues with shadows, do what Youme suggests and try, I think it's 'no ray collision' in the displacement settings, or

take your displacement geo, scale it by 16, then place it directly into the center of your map, and then cut a huge section out of it where your map is (make it seamless, shrinking back back to 1/16 will not change how it looks), then take the displacement geo and scale (with texture scaling lock on) by .0625 on X Y, and Z.

I believe the problem you're describing is that the displacement geometry in your skybox is casting a big shadow over your map because it literally is on top of the rest of the geometry at 1/16th the scale. Are there any decent tutorials on tf2maps for making skyboxes? All of this could be averted if the skybox stuff was made properly.

AntonJ3000
08-24-2009, 12:13 PM
You can make a displacement not cast shadows, its one of the ray option in the displacement menu. have a go with those.

I tried enabling it, didn't work.

And Big Rexy, Cutting displacements like that would mess up displacements, Making holes in them and stuff, So trying to make it the simple way. (Or not so simple for me because I can't model)

Rexy
08-24-2009, 02:02 PM
I tried enabling it, didn't work.

And Big Rexy, Cutting displacements like that would mess up displacements, Making holes in them and stuff, So trying to make it the simple way. (Or not so simple for me because I can't model)

Just as long as you make sure all the verticies meet, all the displacements can be sewn together using the sew button on your face edit displacements tool. Displacements are one of your most versatile options in Hammer. You just have to know how use the tools, and the most effective way. But I don't think making a model would be the simplest or even the easiest alternative. I'm not trying to be mean or stubborn, or even that I won't make the model, I just don't think we should be trying to fix something that isn't broken.

A good reference to brush up on displacement skills is Youme's displacement tutorial: [GUIDE] Youme's guide to displacement cliffs - TF2Maps.net Forums

I don't want you to think I'm trying to brush the subject under the rug or anything like that, I just think your problem can be solved with the right knowledge of your tools.

If you wanted, I could take a look at the vmf and post step by step instructions on how I would fix the problem, but that's entirely up to you.

Terr
08-24-2009, 02:29 PM
I went through some insanity with trying to punch holes and corners out of displacements before I saw the light (http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Creating_Holes_in_Displacements).

Acumen
08-24-2009, 03:08 PM
so, is this more of a mapping problem now ? maybe move to according forums ?

AntonJ3000
08-25-2009, 08:00 AM
so, is this more of a mapping problem now ? maybe move to according forums ?

For me it's still a model problem, I want a model, because the mapping methods don't work for me :P

Cerulean
08-25-2009, 12:17 PM
Ill see if I can make a quick skybox model when I get back to my comp tonight.

Cerulean
08-25-2009, 08:17 PM
Can you post a screenshot in hammer/in-game? The .vmf looks like its an almost flat displacement? Just want to make sure...

Artesia
08-25-2009, 08:42 PM
[request] one giant model for my entire map, no func_details, only enough brushwork to seal the model inside...

Oh wait... that would be inefficient... Maybe I should learn to use hammer.

AntonJ3000
08-26-2009, 02:17 AM
Can you post a screenshot in hammer/in-game? The .vmf looks like its an almost flat displacement? Just want to make sure...

It is supposed to be almost flat but with visible "height-changes", The important thing is the blend-thing.

[request] one giant model for my entire map, no func_details, only enough brushwork to seal the model inside...

Oh wait... that would be inefficient... Maybe I should learn to use hammer.

http://i31.tinypic.com/1qmoeg.gif

Rexy
08-26-2009, 10:38 AM
You know, as rude as Artesia was about his post, the fact of the matter is that I agree with him. Just because you can't use displacement options efficiently enough doesn't mean that someone else should have make up for your shortcomings. The problem you're having has a solution in hammer, not with a model. And besides, the reward and experience you can earn by learning to make the displacements correctly in your map is much more valuable than having someone else make a model for you. You're going to run across this problem again in the future, and it's really frustrating when others are trying to give you suggestions and help you to do your work better, and your solution is not to improve yourself, but to have someone else do the work for you.

Acumen
08-26-2009, 10:47 AM
amen, big rexy. and quite some mapping folks have told you what you could do to solve the problem. like i said, if i were you, i'd take the problem into one of the mapping discussion boards and figure out what causes the problem and how to fix it.

i mean, sure, we modelers love to build models and answer requests if the effort is worth it and it will be rewarded in a way.
i mean the model requesting stuff "is a service and not a right" in the end. people accepting requests because they like the idea or think there might be something coming out of it. you sound like (not saying, that you actually mean it that way) as if it's our first and foremost duty to fullfill evey request that is made in this forum - which is just not the case.
in the last time there were so many requests were people thought, that really EVERY request will be fullfilled without a doubt - which is kind of disrespectful in a way.