Old 03-08-2012, 10:52 PM   #1
stevethepocket
I can fix it!
stevethepocket's Avatar
Posts: 3,071
Thanks given: 280
Thanks received: 1,215
stevethepocket is offline

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


...is showing my 3D skybox.

Am I doing it wrong, or something?

__________________
Current projects: Fort Frolic (BioShock-themed Arena map) | Turbine remake
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Old 03-08-2012, 10:59 PM   #2
Fr0Z3n
The Necromapcer
Fr0Z3n's Avatar
Posts: 5,456
Thanks given: 3,625
Thanks received: 3,517
Blog Entries: 1
Fr0Z3n is offline

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


Can you explain a bit more about what is going on?

__________________

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:05 AM   #3
stevethepocket
I can fix it!
stevethepocket's Avatar
Posts: 3,071
Thanks given: 280
Thanks received: 1,215
stevethepocket is offline

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


I have a 3D skybox with stuff in it. I have a skylight with a tools/toolsskybox2d. If I look at said skylight in-game, I can see the stuff I placed in the 3D skybox. I was under the impression that that was contrary to the purpose of that texture.

__________________
Current projects: Fort Frolic (BioShock-themed Arena map) | Turbine remake
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 06:11 AM   #4
LeSwordfish
semi-trained quasi-professional
LeSwordfish's Avatar
Posts: 2,476
Thanks given: 1,229
Thanks received: 2,309
Blog Entries: 2
LeSwordfish is online now

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


I think 2D and 3D skybox textures can't be used in the same Veiw...thingy. I forget the technical term, but basically you have to never be able to see them both at the same time, in vvis terms. Same as with two levels of water: it's only possible if you can't see both at once.

EDIT: PVS https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/PVS

__________________
--- pl_crusoe --- mvm_sundown --- Portal Buttons ---
---Adopted map --- Pacific MVM --- Original Portal mechanic ---
--- The Pacific Pack! --- Dark Heresy: Lost and Gone Forever ---

 
Last edited by LeSwordfish; 03-09-2012 at 06:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 06:57 AM   #5
grazr
Mmm, hhhyes. indubitably.
grazr's Avatar
Posts: 5,126
Thanks given: 1,205
Thanks received: 3,457
Blog Entries: 16
grazr is offline

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


You can see 2 levels of water in any one area, they just can't both be expensive materials.

__________________
Quote:
A Boojum Snark: Don't listen to grazr he is probably drunk

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 07:05 AM   #6
Freyja
Unpronounceable map names since 2013
Freyja's Avatar
Posts: 2,170
Thanks given: 1,773
Thanks received: 2,842
Blog Entries: 1
Freyja is offline

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


Are you sure about that? I'm quite sure I've done it in the past. Although, that would explain the funny natur eof it.

__________________

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 11:55 PM   #7
stevethepocket
I can fix it!
stevethepocket's Avatar
Posts: 3,071
Thanks given: 280
Thanks received: 1,215
stevethepocket is offline

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


By gum, you're right. I found the page in the developer wiki on tool textures, and that's what it said.

Although I swear some of my 2D skybox textures are nowhere near my regular ones. Am to assume the problem chains, as in a 2D skybox texture can't be in the same PVS as another 2D skybox texture that was in the same PVS as a regular one, either?

__________________
Current projects: Fort Frolic (BioShock-themed Arena map) | Turbine remake
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 09:51 AM   #8
henke37
L13: Stunning Member
henke37's Avatar
Posts: 1,113
Thanks given: 152
Thanks received: 212
henke37 is offline

Default The "2D Skybox" texture


I think the engine just doesn't consider the stuff in the 3d skybox visible when looking thru a 2d skybox brush. But the stuff will still draw if another brush says that the 3d skybox is visible. The engine either sees the 3d skybox or it does not.
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Reply

Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.