Old 03-09-2012, 11:10 PM   #1
Vengeance
L1: Registered
 
Vengeance's Avatar
 
Vengeance is offline
Posts: 20
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2

Default Lighting help


Do any of ya gents know how I can make a room bright, w/out any lights.

TY for the help

~Vengeance~
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Old 03-09-2012, 11:49 PM   #2
stevethepocket
Mobile Ferguson is thinking about his pants.
 
stevethepocket's Avatar
 
stevethepocket is offline
Posts: 2,697
Thanks given: 226
Thanks received: 1,005

Default Lighting help


You mean no light-fixture props, or no light sources at all? Because you can't do that second one, and I don't know why you would want to.

__________________
Current projects: Fort Frolic (BioShock-themed Arena map) | Turbine remake
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 01:39 AM   #3
Vengeance
L1: Registered
 
Vengeance's Avatar
 
Vengeance is offline
Posts: 20
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2

Default Lighting help


well, I just need a easy way to light an entire room. Also my sdk might be glitched or something because when I make the light entity the 3d grid goes black w/ only the light.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:09 PM   #4
stevethepocket
Mobile Ferguson is thinking about his pants.
 
stevethepocket's Avatar
 
stevethepocket is offline
Posts: 2,697
Thanks given: 226
Thanks received: 1,005

Default Lighting help


Hmm. You're not viewing it in "Lighting Preview" mode, are you?

Also, the "easy way to light an entire room" is to put a light entity in it. If you're still in alpha and don't want to worry about realistic lighting, that's the way to do it: Stick a light entity with default values in the approximate middle of every room, with more than one for the bigger rooms.

__________________
Current projects: Fort Frolic (BioShock-themed Arena map) | Turbine remake
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:10 PM   #5
Vengeance
L1: Registered
 
Vengeance's Avatar
 
Vengeance is offline
Posts: 20
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2

Default Lighting help


Thanks steve! Also is there a way to turn off lighting preview?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:40 PM   #6
stevethepocket
Mobile Ferguson is thinking about his pants.
 
stevethepocket's Avatar
 
stevethepocket is offline
Posts: 2,697
Thanks given: 226
Thanks received: 1,005

Default Lighting help


Yeah, in the top left of the 3D view where it says "camera", click it and select "3D Textured". There's also the "3D Shaded Textured Polygons" option, but all it does is darken the east-west walls slightly so you can tell when you're looking at a corner. It makes overlays all flickery though, so it's not really worth it. I haven't used it in ages.

__________________
Current projects: Fort Frolic (BioShock-themed Arena map) | Turbine remake
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 01:39 AM   #7
Vengeance
L1: Registered
 
Vengeance's Avatar
 
Vengeance is offline
Posts: 20
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 2

Default Lighting help


ah, thanks.
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Reply

Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.