Notices

Make triggering/activating bot do something?  Thread Tools Reply
Old 04-16-2012, 12:08 PM   #1
Trotim
Veteran Member
 
Trotim's Avatar
 
Trotim is online now
Posts: 1,114
Thanks given: 1,051
Thanks received: 939

Default Make triggering/activating bot do something?


It should be simple but thanks to extremely lacking documentation and messy code isn't:
A bot_generator spawns a bot that gets the command to walk to a bot_action_point. On his way there he walks through a trigger_multiple that is supposed to, for example, make him say a random voice command (voicemenu 0 0 or whatever).

And I have no idea if that is even possible with entity I/O. Can you set the name of bots? I can change the targetname but that doesn't help because bot_command needs <bot name>. Since they spawn as e.g. "Enemy Engineer" depending on class you don't know their name, you can't use !activator or anything to call them in a bot_command line, plus the quotes are a problem in and of themselves. They also don't seem to react to point_clientcommand? And the bot_action_point doesn't seem to accept "voicemenu 0 0" or anything as Command either.
 
Last edited by Trotim; 04-16-2012 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Old 04-16-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Blade x64
L2: Member
 
Blade x64's Avatar
 
Blade x64 is offline
Posts: 77
Thanks given: 72
Thanks received: 95

Default Make triggering/activating bot do something?


Have you checked the training maps? If I recall correctly, the bots spam 'Go go go' while in the player is in the spawn of Dustbowl.

__________________
Pelagic Shrine Pier Lava Tension Acrophobia Volcanic
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:19 PM   #3
Trotim
Veteran Member
 
Trotim's Avatar
 
Trotim is online now
Posts: 1,114
Thanks given: 1,051
Thanks received: 939

Default Make triggering/activating bot do something?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade Nd64 View Post
Have you checked the training maps? If I recall correctly, the bots spam 'Go go go' while in the player is in the spawn of Dustbowl.
Right... didn't think of that, will check that out, thanks. Yeah I had only downloaded the decompiled Target, not Dustbowl.
 
Last edited by Trotim; 04-16-2012 at 02:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:47 PM   #4
yyler
Guest
 

Posts: n/a

Default Make triggering/activating bot do something?


You've made me want to make a halloween map that uses ghostly player models in out of bounds areas to do things really slowly.
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
Old 04-16-2012, 02:57 PM   #5
Trotim
Veteran Member
 
Trotim's Avatar
 
Trotim is online now
Posts: 1,114
Thanks given: 1,051
Thanks received: 939

Default Make triggering/activating bot do something?


Didn't see anything in tr_dustbowl, must be a hardcoded thing or something tf_bots do in general. But thanks anyway, gonna check if ent_fire helps in any way

EDIT: Well so far at least I know what inputs the bots can actually take thanks to ent_fire autocompleting, but none of them seem to help

Mostly my problem is that I'm too stupid to understand what _exactly_ AddOutput can do and how
 
Last edited by Trotim; 04-16-2012 at 03:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:59 PM   #6
Blade x64
L2: Member
 
Blade x64's Avatar
 
Blade x64 is offline
Posts: 77
Thanks given: 72
Thanks received: 95

Default Make triggering/activating bot do something?


AddOutput can do two useful things.

The first is changing values of entities you'd normally only be able to set in Hammer, like names. Note that these must be referenced by their true variable name (such as targetname) rather than what's displayed by default in Hammer (Name). You can figure out this variable by disabling/enabling smartedit.
The format for the parameter is <key> <value>. Example: "targetname Bob"

I've found this useful, especially when testing payload. For example, (ent_fire payload_train addoutput "startspeed 400") sets the max speed of the cart to 400, about 4 times faster than the usual.

The second is, as the name implies, to add an output. The parameter format is
<output name> <targetname>:<inputname>:<parameter>:<delay>:<ma x times to fire, -1 means infinite>.
Example: "OnFinished game_round_win:RoundWin::0:-1,0,-1"

I'll check out the training maps when I get home to see if I can find anything that'll help.

__________________
Pelagic Shrine Pier Lava Tension Acrophobia Volcanic
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Blade x64 For This Useful Post:
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Reply

Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.