Old 11-22-2009, 04:55 AM   #1
Solynth
L4: Senior Member
 
Solynth's Avatar
 
Solynth is offline
Posts: 224
Thanks given: 64
Thanks received: 23

Default Weird TF2 Lag Issue


I get this weird lag when I make my own server. These are just listen servers made from the game menu.
This is kind of annoying especially when I want to play maps like tr_walkway.

What happens is if I'm walking up stairs I will just go straight through them, and a few seconds later I will pop up at the top of them, where I'm supposed to be.
Say I'm on 2fort, if I go to cross the bridge off the battlements I will just walk across the air to the other side. While this happens it makes all the sounds of me hitting the floor and swimming in the water, even though on the screen I'm still in the air. A few seconds later if I stop for a bit or just jump, I will teleport to where I'm meant to be, like in the water.

I have searched for this and haven't found anything, and it only happens when I make my own server.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Old 11-23-2009, 03:00 AM   #2
Terr
Cranky Coder
 
Terr's Avatar
 
Terr is offline
Posts: 1,536
Thanks given: 40
Thanks received: 403

Default Weird TF2 Lag Issue


Sounds like some strange client-side prediction errors. Does cl_showerrors or cl_smooth seem to have any effect?

Ensure your network settings (ex. cl_interp, cl_interp_ratio) are at their defaults. (0.100, 2)
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Terr For This Useful Post:
Old 11-23-2009, 07:40 AM   #3
Solynth
L4: Senior Member
 
Solynth's Avatar
 
Solynth is offline
Posts: 224
Thanks given: 64
Thanks received: 23

Default Weird TF2 Lag Issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Terr View Post
Sounds like some strange client-side prediction errors. Does cl_showerrors or cl_smooth seem to have any effect?

Ensure your network settings (ex. cl_interp, cl_interp_ratio) are at their defaults. (0.100, 2)
Hmm, that didn't seem to fix it. It's still not working. I have tried both those commands, restarting the game, changing the level. And I put those commands in the Autoexec.cfg

Is there anything else you know that may fix this?
 
Last edited by Solynth; 11-23-2009 at 08:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 04:31 PM   #4
shippouofdoom
L1: Registered
 
shippouofdoom's Avatar
 
shippouofdoom is offline
Posts: 5
Thanks given: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Default Weird TF2 Lag Issue


I have(had?) the same issue. I tried to reproduce it but couldn't. I changed the maxplayers from 1 to 5, and set the time limit to -1. Also, the first map I tried was one of the Valve ones. Hope this helps.
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shippouofdoom For This Useful Post:
Old 11-23-2009, 04:52 PM   #5
Washipato
L3: Junior Member
 
Washipato's Avatar
 
Washipato is offline
Posts: 148
Thanks given: 75
Thanks received: 90

Default Weird TF2 Lag Issue


Follow shippouofdoom's advice.

When creating a server, change the players slots to 24. The problem you are having is that the server has not enough places for the bots.
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Washipato For This Useful Post:
Old 11-23-2009, 09:37 PM   #6
Solynth
L4: Senior Member
 
Solynth's Avatar
 
Solynth is offline
Posts: 224
Thanks given: 64
Thanks received: 23

Default Weird TF2 Lag Issue


Thank you very much, all of you. I will try that as soon as I get home from work.
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Reply

Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.