Notices

[TUTORIAL] Menu Photos  Thread Tools Reply
Old 07-17-2009, 01:03 PM   #31
Sgt Frag
L14: Epic Member
Posts: 1,414
Thanks given: 124
Thanks received: 294
Blog Entries: 1
Sgt Frag is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


It's possible that it is different screen resolutions that stretch the images to fit instead of just floating them. In which case if you try different res you might get a perfect image.

I've never noticed mine being grainy, I run 1920x14(80?)

__________________
cp_original -Assym Contest Entry

ctf_orient_b3
arena_hoover
koth_sandvich
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Old 07-17-2009, 01:31 PM   #32
Mokagogo
L1: Registered
Posts: 32
Thanks given: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mokagogo is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


I tried my normal res, 1024x768, and then up to 1280x1024, but it didn't seem to make a difference.

In case anyone's interested, I measured it and it looks like a 512px image becomes roughly 584px tall when scaled for that page.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:57 AM   #33
clanabout
L1: Registered
Posts: 3
Thanks given: 0
Thanks received: 0
clanabout is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


Download links doesnt work. Can anyone upload again ?

Download Menu Photo's Tutorial
Download Menu Photo's Template PSD's
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:25 AM   #34
l3eeron
L8: Fancy Shmancy Member
l3eeron's Avatar
Posts: 548
Thanks given: 113
Thanks received: 83
l3eeron is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


I have the .psd templates at home... will upload when I get off of work.

__________________
<eVa>l3eeron
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t51/l3eeon/MrB.png
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 06:50 PM   #35
Haggis
L2: Junior Member
Haggis's Avatar
Posts: 86
Thanks given: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Haggis is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


Cut and past your "menu_photos_mapname.vtf" and "menu_photos_mapname.vmt" in following directory:
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\<player_name>\team fortress 2\tf\materials\vgui\maps

How do you do this as there is no \tf\materials\vgui\maps it is one of the cached folders,do i just make up these folders.

Its ok i have done it.
 
Last edited by Haggis; 02-28-2010 at 04:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 01:50 AM   #36
Tapp
L10: Glamorous Member
Posts: 767
Thanks given: 179
Thanks received: 211
Tapp is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


epic bump is epic

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
 
Last edited by Tapp; 02-28-2010 at 02:13 AM. Reason: BUMP
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 10:48 PM   #37
MrDonde
L1: Registered
MrDonde's Avatar
Posts: 22
Thanks given: 4
Thanks received: 0
MrDonde is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


"Copy and paste your "menu_photos_mapname.tga" in following directory:
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\<player_name>\team fortress 2\tf\materialsrc"

I look in my steam folder and what I have is:

C:\Steam\steamapps\username\team fortress 2\tf\materials

Where should I put the file if I don't have a "materialsrc" folder?

Second issue, when I went to edit the target of the vtex.exe shortcut I wasn't sure what was ment by:

"Add the following 2 parameters behind the Target:"

Where is behind the target?

__________________
IF IT BLEEDS, WE CAN KILL IT!
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 07:36 AM   #38
megawac
L4: Comfortable Member
megawac's Avatar
Posts: 180
Thanks given: 15
Thanks received: 29
megawac is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


Make the materialsrc folder in your team fortress 2/tf folder. Place all tga files you want to convert in it.

The target is refering to the propeties of the shortcut.

Example:


Dont have sdk on this computer so just showing dropbox with the proper directory to vtex.
 
Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Old 05-21-2010, 09:03 AM   #39
MrDonde
L1: Registered
MrDonde's Avatar
Posts: 22
Thanks given: 4
Thanks received: 0
MrDonde is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


Awesome sauce, thanks megawac!

I will give it a try on my lunch break.

__________________
IF IT BLEEDS, WE CAN KILL IT!
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 01:41 PM   #40
[O]
L3: Member
[O]'s Avatar
Posts: 113
Thanks given: 65
Thanks received: 22
[O] is offline

Default [TUTORIAL] Menu Photos


I've tried it over and over.

The vmt works fine but i think im having problems with the vtf because i keep getting a checkered pink texture where the photos should be,

I have no problem converting the targa to vtf with the vtex.exe so i think im not editing the alpha correctly.

I've used 2fort psd template and placed my screenshots in a layer below the frames but above the black background.

I go to "channels" and have no idea how to:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swift View Post
* edit the Alpha channel to make it hide the black background and show the pictures only
I tried deleting the black area didnt work. Turning off certain layer or channels before saving as targa also didnt work.

would appreciate any help on this.

__________________
CHECK OUT MY MAP'S WIP AND LEAVE SOME FEEDBACK!!! [CP_DAM]
 
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement Sponsored links

Reply  

Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Tags
menu photo, tutorial
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.