Raven Software Design Internships 2k13

IrishTaxIDriver

L6: Sharp Member
Sep 27, 2008
Hello again forums! This post will seem familiar because I made one last year around this time!

My name is Dan Merboth, I am an associate level designer at Raven Software. Before my professional life, I was a prolific and terrible mapper in the TF2 community, making many posts on these very forums!

I was hired at Raven Software in August 2011 as an intern in a new design program, created to get Raven back to its roots in the mod community. A long time ago when I was just starting out with level design, Raven had this reputation of being close to the mod community, and thats gone away a little.

I was offered a fulltime position in January 2012. Between then and now, I built two MW3 DLC levels (Decomission and Boardwalk) and made significant contributions to nearly every MP map but three.

The program I was a part of was successful, and we're gonna keep doing it!

WHATS CHANGED FROM LAST YEAR:

• The deadline is July 1st, 2013. Thats a whole lotta time! We pushed it back to help out with the apartment situations.
  • We do not want playtested maps. This leads us to have higher expectations for your designs! Trust your senses, focus on fundamentals and good building practices. You can work on your iterating/feedback skills when you get here.
  • The design has changed. Hargeysha has been replaced by Lockdown, a fortress island. Described by one of our design interns from last year as "Simple, yet challenging for someone new at Radiant."

WHAT THIS MEANS:

• You'll get to work with highly motivated designers who've been building levels for a very long time (they're also cool as hell).
  • You'll work in a building I've had to describe as "not like Grandma's Boy, its like a regular job but we make awesome games."
  • 12 month internship. 2-3 spots (as far as I know).
  • It is paid (don't know how much).